Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden

A walk through Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden is a lovely way to spend an afternoon in Cape Town. Unfortunately my camera’s battery was flat when I arrived at the garden, but I managed to snap these images with my phone. I’d love to have these plants in my garden. The Afrikaans names are wonderful: The flowers in the photograph below are called speldekussings (which translates to ‘pincushions’), and the last photograph is of a succulent plant called tontelbos (like many lyrical Afrikaans names it’s impossible to translate). Love it.

Leave a Reply

